One of my latest quests is to visit the high point of every county in Arizona. There are fifteen, some of which are rather easy to complete and others that are much more difficult. This quest doesn’t have a due date, but I’m hoping to be close to completion by the end of the summer in 2017.

I’ve currently completed 6 of the 15.

Here’s the list, according to summitpost, along with a nifty interactive map. Also check out the County Highpointers Association—and, of course, my other quests.

Map of Arizona county high points

Apache – Mt Baldy (11,420 ft)

Cochise – Chiricahua Peak (9759 ft)

Coconino – Humphrey’s Peak (12,633 ft) – completed June 1, 2014

Humphrey's Peak - Coconino County high point

Gila – Mogollon Rim (7920 ft) – Myrtle Point completed May 30, 2015; Promontory Point completed August 1, 2015
Myrtle Point, Gila County's High PointPromontory Point, Gila County high point

Graham – Mt Graham (10,720 ft)

Greenlee – (unnamed, informally known as “South KP Peak“) (9441 ft) – completed September 6, 2015
Greenlee County's high point, "South KP Peak"

La Paz – Harquahala Mountain (5681 ft) – completed February 13, 2015Harquahala Mountain, La Paz County high point

Maricopa – Browns Peak (7657 ft)

Mohave – Hualapai Peak (8417 ft)

Pima – Mount Lemmon (9157 ft) – completed July 19 & August 23, 2015
Mount Lemmon, Pima County's High Point

Pinal – Rice Peak – North Slope (7280 ft)

Santa Cruz – Mount Wrightson (9457 ft)

Yavapai – Mount Union (7979 ft) – completed March 8, 2015
Mount Union, the high point of Yavapai County

Yuma – Signal Peak (4877 ft)

1 comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: